Awards Dinner Shines Spotlight on Graduates

As if completing medical school weren’t a difficult enough achievement in itself, certain students have exceeded RVUCOM’s already high standards for success by displaying remarkable levels of excellence in academics and service over the years. It was for these students that RVUCOM held the annual Graduation Awards Dinner.

Some of the awards handed out were Top 10% in Academic Standing, Excellence in the Clinical Years, Excellence in the Basic Sciences, and Certificates of Completion for each of the honors tracks. Within each track, one or more students were selected for a special honor: for Military Medicine, Charles Hutchinson; for Global Medicine track, Sheila Maier; and for Rural and Wilderness Medicine, Sean Slack and Nicholas Broadbent for Clinical Excellence, and Andrew Rotando and Kristin Barney for Academic Excellence.

Several distinguished awards were passed out over the course of the evening. Lindsay Barrett received the Brandon Trusell Community Service Award; Carly LaCroix received the William G. Anderson Resiliency Award; and Jeffrey Summers received the Research Award. The President’s Award is unique in that it is the result of faculty and staff voting for the student they felt best resembles the RVU Core Values: Integrity, Collegiality, Compassion, Diversity, Excellence, and Service. This award was presented to Matthew Bradbury.

The winners of the annual Dean’s Award were Annaliese Stone Casey and Jeremy Jie Casey. During their time at RVUCOM, they have worked together on many service projects and clinical outreach programs. They have developed rural Kansas as a course site for RVU. They have created new residency opportunities for students who came after them. As Thomas N. Told, DO, FACOFP, dist., Dean, said of their selection, “They exemplified the spirit of RVU. They were the builders of their class.”

Congratulations to each of our award winners on their hard work and dedication!

Leave a Reply